Live a little

Everything that has happened the past days have left me in a very sullen mood. So many youths my age died, slaughtered by a man, one of their fellow country men. Yes, I’m talking about the massacre in Norway.

So, to get my mind onto other things, I put on a feel-good movie; ‘Eat, Pray, Love’. And my Goddess, it worked. This movie always putts me in the strangest of moods, my head gets full of thoughts, and I’m dying to follow Liz’ example. To just drop everything and leave, just leave, take a break, live, feel, pray…

As children, we are thought to be responsible. We have to clean our hair, change out underwear, do our homework, our chores… Then, as you move out, you have to do laundry, tidy up, make dinner, go to school, or go to work. My life consists of responsibilities. I have to go to school next year, I have to learn, I have to pass my exams and get a degree in order to get a good job. Then I have to make a home, find a husband, have children and raise them to be responsible.

But I just want to live. For a little while, can’t I just live? Can’t I just travel, experience things, eat, enjoy life, live and love? But in fact, I can’t, I can’t afford it, it’s as simple as that. But maybe, next summer, I can? For a month, if I work hard this year and save up all the money I earn, maybe I can live for a month, with a friend or two. Maybe we can go somewhere exotic, and just experience life, rather than spending the entire summer vacation working. Work is not a proper vacation from school, it just isn’t.

Inter-rail… That would be something…


This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

