Inspirational Ideas…

Let me start off this post by assuring you, though I have been absent for quite a while, I am not dead. Nor have I been sick or unwell in any way, I have merely been busy doing mundane things such as work. Now that doesn’t make for very exciting blogging, so I figured I’d rather wait to speak up until I had something of importance to say.

A little while ago, a friend of mine named Hedwig and I decided to make idea-boxes. So, super motivated as we were, we all but ran out the door to buy plane cardboard boxes, paint and some decorations. And that was that, the stuff was laying in a bag in my room for weeks before we got started, and even when we did, it was a few coats of white paint, and that was that for another week or so. But now, they’re finally finished! I’ll show you the wonders later, I don’t have any pictures at the moment, and I’m unable to take them right now, but I’m rather pleased with the result.

Now you might ask, ‘what on earth is an idea box?!’ I know, I know, I was asking the same thing. When you’re a writer, ideas tends to pop into your head at the most inconvenient of times, such as when you’re on the buss, making dinner, at work, or merely taking a shower. Those ideas could have turned into something, if it weren’t for the fact that my head is so full of silly thoughts, I tend to forget the ideas within minutes. Yes, I have a short attention span. So what do you do? Why, you scribble the idea down on a little note, and put it in the idea-box, and the next time you need inspiration, you just draw an idea out of the box! Brilliant, I know 😉

I bought a set of boxes, where one would fit into the other, just in case I messed up the first few tries I made, so I now have two idea-boxes, one smaller than the other. Hedwig and I decided we’d put one each in the kitchen (it’s a sorely needed decoration) and slip each other ideas as well.

So, that being said, I drew an idea from my box today, brought to you by Hedwig. “If you could be really good at one specific thing, what would it be?”

By ArwensGrace

That’s a really good question… I mean, there’s a lot of things I’d like to be better at, but being really good at /one/ particular thing… If I had to choose a mundane thing, I think I’d like to be really good with nature. Making things grow, keeping a garden, making it thrive under my care. I suppose that’s a skill I could learn, it ‘only’ takes practice, but the fact is, I don’t have practice. My mother never kept much of a garden, a few rose bushes at the most, and fully grown flowers she bought fresh every year. They never really survive the summer… Now, I don’t have a garden, or room to plant. But one day, I want a small house, like a little cottage, with a garden. And I want to make it bloom, I want herbs and flowers, berry bushes and apple trees galore. And I want it to be cosy, inviting you to grab a book from the library, and settle down in the shade.

So there you have it, the thing I’d most like to be really good at. How about you? What would you like to be really good at?  ~Dravite~

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inspirational Ideas…

  1. gothweniel says:

    I would like to be really good at drawing. It would be so awesome to be able to make pictures, pencil drawn pictures, that mae people go “Whoa! Awesome!” If I was really good at drawing I would draw lots of different, slightly odd pictures and hang them up everywhere!

Leave a Reply

