Gnomes in my Kitchen?

Good morning everyone, and a blessed Winter Solstice to you all!

Almost 3 weeks ago, there was an incident I forgot to tell you about. I woke up as usual, and went upstairs to make myself a cup of my favourite blend of tea, only to find my cup to be missing. I know for a fact that it was in my cupboard late the night before, and that morning it was nowhere to be found. However, an old cup that used to be in the back of my cupboard was in the dishwasher, clean, unused, and mocking me. I know it was my cup, because it has my name written on it in bold red letters.

So I ended up having my tea out of the old cup, and the next day, when I was making dinner, I found my favourite teacup at the back of the cupboard where I keep my pots and pans. I know I didn’t put it there, and I can’t phantom why anyone else would, but there it was.

I dismissed the incident, though I had my suspicions that a mischievous Gnome was about, and one who knew that I take my tea very serious at that. This morning, there was another incident.

I share a kitchen with 3 other girls, and two of them has gone home for the holidays. This morning I went upstairs to take a shower, having showered, I just wrapped myself in a towel and a robe and I went into the kitchen to start the coffee maker, then I went back into the bathroom, which is right next to the kitchen. (The bedrooms are downstairs) My friend came into the kitchen just a few minutes later, because she had heard someone pass her bedroom, and she assumed it was me. It couldn’t have been, because I’ve been upstairs for 30 minutes, and when she came into the kitchen, it was empty, though she thought she had followed someone upstairs, and the very noisy fan over the stove was running. The fan had not been on when I put on the coffee maker.

So clearly, there’s someone or something living in my kitchen, and I think I’m going to have to make friends with them if I want my teacups to be safe.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gnomes in my Kitchen?

  1. You’re extremely lucky! It sounds as though you could have a house brownie who, for whatever reason, believes that is the cup you should be using. The best way of making friends with it is simply to say ‘Thank you House Brownie’ whenever you suspect it has done something. They can be incredibly helpful and kind but woe betide those who cross them.

Leave a Reply

