Pumpkins?

Blessed morning, friends.

The holidays are over, and I’m back in my tiny little room at the apartment/students accommodation I share with 2,5 other girls. We’re supposed to be 4 girls living here, but one of them is moving out (hence the .5) to live with her boyfriend. I’m going to miss her, but I have to admit, it’s a bit of a relief. The past year or so, her boyfriend had practically been living with us, and though he’s a really nice guy, and I’m happy for them, he takes up a lot of space.

My room is a mess these days, I had to pack in a rush between work and the train departure when I left to go home for the holidays, and now my suitcase looks like it has been vomiting clothes over my floor, which again could use a good mopping. Not to mention the desk… I can be so messy, it’ll take me a day, and I’d have turned the most tidy and clean room into a war zone, unless I take 5-10 minutes every day to tidy up a bit. I know, 5-10 minutes doesn’t sound like much, but some days, I just can’t be bothered to care… But now, there’s no excuse. I don’t start school for another week, it’s the perfect time to tidy, clean and clutter clear, all of which is sorely needed.

Now, over to a different matter entirely, and confession time. Hi, my name is Dravite, and I’m a Harry Potter geek. There, I said it, and I’m damn proud of it. I’ve been a Harry Potter geek for as long as I can remember, I started out by listening to the audio books of the first and the second book, and it just escalated from there. You see, I have dyslexia, and at the age of 10, I really wasn’t a strong reader, but I loved to listen to audio books. However, the third Harry Potter book hadn’t been released as an audio book yet, and after waiting for it to be translated from English, I just didn’t have the patience to wait for someone else to read it to me. So I read it. And I loved it, and to this day, it’s my favourite. Those book awoke my love for books and for reading, they were also the first books I read in English, and they kindled my love of fantasy books.

Now, I’ve just gotten my hands on the limited edition complete 1-8 film collection. It has all the films in both DVD and Blu-ray, pluss a photo album, like the one Hagrid gives Harry with pictures of his parents. So naturally, my gang of geeks and I have to have a Harry Potter marathon!

Now, to the point of this story; I was given a food processor for Christmas, and for a Harry Potter marathon, one needs pumpkin juice. So 8pm last night, my trusty minion and I left home on a quest for pumpkins. And an epic quest it was, because the big supermarket just a block from where we live closed early. So we walked 15 minutes to the next one, but they didn’t have anything even remotely pumpkin-related, so we kept on walking to the next one. By now, the stores were starting to close, and no pumpkins were to be found anywhere, and the only place we could think of were a 40-50 minutes walk in the opposite direction of the one we had been walking in. So we took a cab, and just before closing time, we ran into the store. The only thing they had was pickled pumpkins, so pickled pumpkins we bought, in addition to a  number of other mystery ingredients such as carrot-juice, and I searched for figs, but they were out.

Have you ever tried to make juice out of a pickled vegetable? Not easy, I tell you. But after a lot of experimenting in the kitchen, we both came up with something that can pass for pumpkin juice, though I don’t remember exactly what I put in it, so I doubt that I could replicate it… However, we had loads of fun! Chocolate frogs are next. (We’ve already tried butterbeer twice, and with some adjustments, I think we could pull that off too)

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pumpkins?

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    I want that set too!!!! Jealous much*

Leave a Reply

