War Paint.

First of all, I can only apologize for my absence. I guess you can say that I’ve had a lot on my mind lately, and I needed a little time to come to terms with it.

Now, as I’m getting ready for my friend’s birthday party (also known as the “moustache-party” -no moustache, no entrance. And trust me, it’s way too cold to stay outside) I find myself asking, what is it that makes us women make such an effort? I’ve plucked my eyebrows, shaved my legs, shaved my armpits, painted my nails and toenails, even though I plan on wearing shoes all night. Now, I’ve squeezed myself into hold-in this and hold-in that, I’ve put on a nice dress, and I’m wearing shoes that are made for sitting and not walking. In a minute, I’ll be upstairs where I’ll put on foundation, eyeshadow, eyeliner, maskara and lipstick. I’ll put loads of different products in my hair to make it look just a little bit nicer, and I’ll spray myself with expensive perfume. For what? It’s not like my friends would judge me, and they’ve already seen me in a bathing-suit, so really, why make such an effort?

Why do girls feel like we’ve got to do these things? The other day, my sister, even though she had a fever and was running late, took the time to do her hair, rather than eat breakfast. And not too long ago, people would break their little girls’ feet and make them wear shoes that would forever cripple them, just because it was deemed beautiful. Who gets to decide what’s beautiful and not? Why can’t we be good enough as we are, without a ton of make-up and uncomfortable shoes? I wonder…

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

