Never Bite a Boy on the First Date.

As I browsed through the books in the huuuuuge Waterstones books store in York (I’m still having wet dreams about that book store) I stumbled across a book with such a funny, intriguing title; it was practically begging to come home with me. So of course I bought it. (Along with 5 other books)

Never Bite a Boy on the First Date” by Tamara Summers. I’m sorry to admit that I forgot about it as soon as I came home and unpacked (though it took me about 2 weeks to stop living out of my suitcase and actually unpack.) It’s bees sitting in my bookshelf for months, and only last night did I think of it. I wanted something easy and funny to read to get my mind off things, and I got just what I asked for.

The book is funny and cute, and it’s very easy to get through in less than a day, even if you’re not a fast reader. The main character is re-named Kira, though it used to be Phoebe, she changed it when she died. She has a funny way of looking at life, and you can definitely recognize the mind-sett of a teenage girl. It’s a typical YA book, one girl, three cute boys, but unlike most YA books, it actually worked in this one, mainly because Kira was agreeing that it was slightly ridiculous, and the main focus wasn’t on her having to choose between them. In fact, that wasn’t an issue at all as it more or less solved itself. Did I say three boys? In a way it was four, though one of them was her ex whom she accidentally turned and who is now posing as her brother.

Throughout the book I had a feeling that I was reading a sequel, but a lot of googling has assured me that this is in fact the first and so far the only book about Kira November.

“It wasn’t me,” I said.

“I make one mistake and suddenly every little vampire attack is my fault? That’s so unfair!”

But it doesn’t matter how much I protest, unless I can prove my innocence I’ll be spending the next decade in a padded coffin. So now I’m on a mission to track down the real murderer.

I’ve narrowed it down to three suspects.

All acting suspiciously.

All boys.

And all very cute…

The style of the book reminded me a bit of Molly Harper’s “Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs”, though it’s all happening in High School. It doesn’t exactly challenge your mind, but it’s cute and funny entertainment, so if you are like me and read merely for the pleasure of reading, and to be entertained and thrilled, then this book is worthy of your time. Did I mention that Kira has green hair? This fact alone made me like her.

He picked up a lock of my hair and squinted at it. “Is your hair green?”

“No!” I said, sounding shocked. “Wow, the chlorine in your pool must be really strong!”

He looked so worried, I nearly fell over laughing.

-From chapter 9, Never Bite a Boy on the First Date.

Apparently, if you want to catch the attention of a member of the swimming team; all you have to to is pretend like he startled you into falling into the pool. 😉

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

