Easy Breakfast Muffins.

As my exams are slowly but steadily catching up with me, no matter how fast I try to run from them, I can practically feel my inspiration leaving me in small puffs coming from my ears. (Now that’s an amusing mental image, just there)

However, to escape all the things I should be doing, such as reading for the exams, I’ve been quite a good little house wife these past week. Except I don’t have a house, and I’m nobody’s wife… But I have been cleaning and even cooking from scratch! Now, some of you might raise an eyebrow at my obvious pride at these little things, but as a student I rarely cook from scratch since I’m only cooking for myself, and it’s so much easier to just open a frozen pizza and stick it in the oven for 15-20 minutes.

It all started the morning I ran out of bread, so I googled “breakfastmuffins”, and there they were. I did some modifications to the recipe, mostly switching out some of the flour with a slightly healthier type, and adding some sesame seeds instead of the peas.

Breakfast Muffins.

300 g All Purpose Flour (Or you can exchange half of it with fine whole wheat, as I did)

1 teaspoon Baking Powder

1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda

1/2 teaspoon Salt

2,5 dl Milk

2 Large Eggs

100 g Melted Butter

Small squares of ham and cheese, the more the merrier, or whatever else you’ve got in the fridge that might sound good.

First you mix the dry ingredients in a bowl. Whip together the milk and eggs and add this to the dry ingredients, then add the ham and cheese. It will look more like a dough than batter. Use a spoon to fill the muffin tray (or muffin cases) and put them in the oven for 15-20 minutes on 200 degrees Celsius until they’re golden.

They taste delicious, and they’re so easy to make. 30 minutes, and you’ll have fresh and healthy (or at least almost healthy) muffins for lunch or breakfast. Feel free to play around with them, adding the things you like and excluding the things you don’t like.

I also made cupcakes that I got a lot of compliments for, so I’ll give you that recipe next time 😉 Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

