Another Lux Novel

Good morning, world. Yes, I’m still alive, in case you were wondering.

I’m sitting at my desk in my new room (I haven’t gotten to the point where I can call it home yet). It’s pouring outside, and the rain is mixing with the constant fog, making the whole world grey. My world is pretty much grey these days (not fifty shades of it, thankyouverymuch.), but I’ve been spending a lot of time reading. I couldn’t bring many books with me, which broke my heart, but I did bring my kindle. This nifty little device has saved my life a million times over, especially since I mostly read books in English, and it takes forever for those books to reach a bookstore here in Norway if they even do, which more often than not they don’t.

Onyx. By Jennifer L. Armentrout

A while back, I was blogging about a book named Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I really liked the main character Kathy, who is a book blogger as well, and the main male character Daemon kinda grows on you. Well, the author wrote a prequel to the book, named Shadows which is about Daemon’s twin brother. His much nicer brother, I might add, and parts of it left me in tears because not only is some of it heartbreaking, but it also allows you to understand Daemon’s character so much better.

So, I eagerly whipped out my kindle and and downloaded Onyx yesterday, and I must say that though I haven’t finished it yet, I love it. I knew I would, I’m in love with the characters, and it’s just original enough for me to like it. You have the typical traits for a paranormal romance book; human-girl, unknown-species-boy, paranormal threat, he needs to protect her, and all the while she is trying to determine what it is that makes him different from others, and then what in the world he is.

However, this isn’t one of those books where girl meets boy, boy meets girl, they fall in love within seconds and the entire world seems determined to break them up. There is attraction between the characters, chemistry, but they don’t agree on everything (or anything), and Kathy has a mind of her own. The fact that she would read this book herself makes it even better. For once, I can actually see myself becoming friends with the main character of a book.

This is one of those books where you can submerge your mind completely in it, and escape into the world of the book, even more so because it’s believable. I haven’t reached the end yet, but I already love it, because it’s not just about getting to the end and solving the big mystery so that the main characters can live happily ever after. It’s about the atmosphere and the mood of the book, I’m enjoying all of it, and it gives me time to breathe without getting bored. I guess you can say that in this way, it’s perfectly balanced between excitement and everyday experiences.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Lux Novel

  1. Grace says:

    Now I’m intrigued about Obsidian… a main character who is a book blogger sounds enjoyable.

    • Dravite says:

      It really is enjoyable, and very motivating if you are wanting to blog more often. I have the urge to get my laptop and write something every time Kathy is gushing over the newest book she got in the mail, or just describing how the fact that she leaves books everywhere is driving her mum crazy.

      • Grace says:

        Haha, that sounds a lot like me… my day always improves when new books show up in the mail. I’ll definitely have to read it soon!

Leave a Reply

