On Hobbits and Cold Showers.

First of all, no the title does not mean what you might think.
It’s been a while now since my last post, and the only excuse I have for it is that I really haven’t been in the mood to write anything remotely decent. You see, I’ve been struggling with depression lately, more so than I usually do in fact (and by lately I mean the past two and a half months). I don’t want to be one of those people who complain all the time in hope of receiving sympathy, so I tend to rather stay silent.

However, things might have taken a turn for the better in my life. I have just moved into new accommodations which is a good thing because the way I was living was unbearable. Now, however small it is, I’m living in students’ accommodations on campus, and I no longer have an old lady snooping around my every move. (Seriously, she was even keeping an eye on how often I aired out my room, claiming I did so too often.)

Ah, students’ accommodations… We all love them, right? Right? Well, I discovered the first downside to this new living situation of mine this morning. You would thing that seeing as I have previously lived in such accommodations for three years that I would remember how the showering arrangement works. Alas I did not, so when I decided to sleep in I got a very unhappy surprise halfway through my shower. You have to be up at an ungodessly hour if you want to shower in hot water when you share a water tank with forty-three other students. So there I was, swearing and gasping with my hail full of conditioner, my hands full of soap, and frigid water down my back. I had not been missing that part of my morning ritual.

So you may ask; do I regret moving here? No way! I’d take no hot water over The Crazy Old Dog Lady any day.

On a completely different note; I started reading The Hobbit by Tolkien last night. I am ashamed to say that I have not read it before *insert shocked gasps of horror from unseen people here*, but I have been looking forwards to doing so for a long time. So far, the Hobbit is a perfect fantasy tale, starting with a quest to slay a dragon, which of course requires a proper journey. It would not be a proper, classical fantasy tale if it did not include a long and preferably dangerous journey made by a slightly reluctant hero.

So how will I be spending the evenings of my first week in my new lair? I intend to spend them with thirteen dwarves, a hobbit, a wizard, possibly a couple of elves and trolls, and most importantly a bottle of wine.  What else is a girl to do when the internet is not yet up and running?

This entry was posted in Books, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Hobbits and Cold Showers.

  1. Luinriel says:

    Sounds like the perfect way to spend an evening 😀 I might just do the same, with tea instead of wine 🙂

Leave a Reply

