Letter to an old teacher

Picture the one person in the world you really wish were reading your blog. Write her or him a letter.

Dear Kari…

You might not know it, but what you did for me in High School meant so much to me. No teacher had ever really seen me before, all they saw was a girl who spent every free period with her nose in a book. How could a girl like that have any problems in school?

but I did, and you saw that. I will never forget how you gently suggested that I got myself tested for Dyslexia. The thought had never struck me before, and I had been so close to giving up, because no matter how much I read, I wasn’t a fast reader, and no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t spell the words correctly, and my grades were suffering for it.

Having a reason meant so much to me; you have me fresh hope, and with a little extra help I got B’s instead of C’s or D’s. But it wasn’t just the grades, it was the hope you managed to give me. You kindled the love for books, culture and languages in me.

You mean so much to me, and in a way I think I began to look at you as a surrogate grandmother. You knew my grandmother, did you not? You were both teachers, and I like to think that she would have seen me as well, and kindled my love for books and reading while the rest of my family attempted to make me more like them instead. But sports were never my path.

It broke my heart to hear of your cancer, the same decease as the one who claimed my grandmother from this life eighteen years ago. I pray for you, because you are such a caring woman. Despite everything that life has thrown at you; childlessness, a difficult husband, the death of your adoptive son… You still managed to care for every single one of your students, and we noticed that. I hope you know that we loved you, and you still have a place in our hearts, even after all these years. I care, as you cared…

This entry was posted in Books, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Letter to an old teacher

Leave a Reply

