Sign of Life and Summer Plans.

Yes, my dear readers, I am in fact still alive although I understand that you might find this hard to believe after such a long absence. I believe my last post was during Easter?

I could blame my absence on the exams that have been lined up like pearls on a string (is that even an expression in English?) since Easter, the first being the 19th of April, and the last being today. I’ll try my best to not venture further into the rant about how sick I am of data-modelling, Microsoft Access, medias and documents, lets just state that I am very glad to be starting my summer vacation today.

I actually did write and post a few weeks ago, but I took it down after just a few minutes. It was too long and emotional (the fact that I had somehow managed to empty a bottle of red wine in an hour did not help), and it was far from my best work. In hindsight, I can sum up the entire post in a few short sentences; My dad is a police officer (or “Detective Superintendent” I believe his rank is called) and spent years of my childhood and teenage years abroad on missions. He went to Kosovo, Bosnia, Rwanda, Kenya, Afghanistan and probably some other countries that I can’t remember at the moment. He called and informed me very casually that he is leaving for Sudan in August, and he will be working down there for a year. I did not take the news well, and that about sums up the entire 800 words of that post, with the addition of some anecdotes of what it’s like to be a police detective’s daughter.

Slightly more positive, or at least life-altering news; I got my surgery date a few days ago. As some of you know; I have been on a waiting list to get Gastric Sleeve surgery for 2 years now, and now it’s finally happening. Am I nervous? Of course! However, though it is still a huge decision to make, I am more at ease with the Sleeve than I was with the thought of a Gastric Bypass. They are “only” touching my stomach, and not my intestines as they do with a bypass patient, so it’s easier to live a normal life after a sleeve then after a bypass. One month from tomorrow, on the 17th of June, I’ll be having the surgery and taking a huge step forward on the path towards a better and healthier life. A path I have been on for 2 years, I might add, but with PCOS it’s not easy to lose weight.

So far, I don’t have a job this summer, and I am looking forwards to relaxing, spending lots of time with my family, and finally having time to read all those books that I have been meaning to read for so long, but couldn’t find the time for in the middle of my studies. First one out (and I am ashamed to admit that I have not read it yet, though it has literally been sitting on my Kindle for 4 years) is “A Game of Thrones” by George R. Martin.

This entry was posted in Books, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sign of Life and Summer Plans.

  1. Jamie says:

    Life is to Sort , we must enjoy each and every moment of that. Up and downs are the part of life, as light and darkness always come one after the other, same thing happens in life also.

Leave a Reply

