Anybody out there?

I wonder, is anybody reading this? Does anybody really pay attention? I suppose all writers are wondering about the same thing; you get followers, but rarely any likes or comments… Does that mean that no one is reading what I am writing? (Yes, I am mixing up the personal pronouns on purpose).

On the food front after one and a half week on Herbalife protein shakes I finally feel like I am settling down. It’s getting easier to resist temptation, mostly because I’m no longer as tempted as I was in the beginning. It’s almost a relief to not have to think about food any more… I don’t have to think about what to have for dinner and lunch, trying (and failing) to find something that is both tasty, healthy, fast and easy to make, and I’m starting to really enjoy the shakes. Of course, me loosing about 4 kilos (about 2 pounds) in a little over a week does help with the motivation.

I went to the city with my sister and two friends two days ago, and though I felt a bit silly making my shake while they were all having nachos at a café, it’s a relief to not have that guilty feeling after every meal because you know you should have picked something healthier. Have I mentioned that this sister of mine is the best sister in the world? Kristine is so kind and easygoing, and unlike my other sister she never makes me feel like she is ashamed to be seen with me or that I’m not good enough. I’m so happy that she has grown up enough for me to talk to her now (I’m five years older, and she is now 18) and we can do all the things that I’ve always wanted to do with my sisters, but never could do with the oldest of my sisters because everything I do seems to be wrong in her eyes. As the wind is howling and the rain is falling down in buckets, she even agreed to get up early on her day off to drive me to work so that I won’t have to endure a normally 40 minutes (probably 50/60 minutes with all this wind) bike ride to work in the rain, leaving me looking like a drowned rat. I haven’t spent an entire summer home since she was much younger, and I’m really going to enjoy connecting more with her this year.

On the book front, I’ve started a new adventure. My first encounter with an Arabian author; Saladin Ahmed’s debut novel Throne of the Crescent Moon. My friend Luinhen and I both bought this book, and decided to start a book club this summer, and this one looked interesting enough to both of us, so we decided to give it a try. I’ll let you know how it is, but so far (two chapters in) it’s good, and the main character seems to share my love for tea. ❤

This entry was posted in Books, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anybody out there?

  1. Grace says:

    Sisters are wonderful! I have two younger sisters (and a little brother, but he’s still pretty young), and it’s so different interacting with them now that we’re all adults–in a good way. 🙂

  2. Pingback: On Books, Dragons, Aliens and my Stomach. | Dravite's Books and Cauldron

Leave a Reply

