Grandparents.

What is a grandparent? According to the online free dictionary a grandparent is “A parent of one’s mother or father; a grandmother or grandfather.” But is it really that easy?

My maternal grandmother died when I was four years old, she was an only child and her father died long before I was born. My great grandmother lived for us. She was the one to care for me when I was sick, to read to me, sing to me and tell me stories while my parents were busy working. She was everything a grandparent should be.

My paternal grandfather was never a grandparent however. He and my grandmother are divorced, it was not a happy marriage for my grandmother, and he has spent the past 15 years drinking and smoking like a chimney. He never asks how I’m doing, never calls me, and I can’t remember him ever paying any attention to me, so I gave up on him years ago.

He had a heart attack two days ago and is now in a coma. He can’t breathe on his own, and we don’t know if he’ll ever wake up… Logically I know that it is his fault that we don’t have a relationship, but I gave up on him and now I might never get to talk to him. We had all just given up on having a relationship with him because he never made any effort and never did anything that didn’t benefit himself. He is not a good person, but he is still my grandfather, and I feel so guilty for giving up on him and leaving him alone… He’s still my grandfather and I wish I knew him. I wish he would get better and stop both drinking and smoking, and that he’ll understand that you have to give something back every once in awhile. I wish he would be my grandfather…

This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grandparents.

  1. Pinkjumpers says:

    Beautiful post,
    I hope that your grandfather recovers well.

    • Dravite says:

      He is awake now at least, we just have to make him understand that unless he stops drinking and smoking as much as he has, he’ll end up right back in that hospital bed. No one can be as stubborn as an old man

Leave a Reply

