On Books, Dragons, Aliens and my Stomach.

After exactly two weeks, my stomach and I seem to have come to an agreement. It has been a long quarrel, and we both said and did things we came to regret, but now we are back on speaking terms. My stomach will let me consume beverages and soft food in sliiightly larger amounts; as long as I promise to take it slow with medium sized sips and not too much at once, never taking a single sip after my stomach gives me a small warning. Of course, there will be dire consequences for both of us if either on breaks these conditions.

“Stomach Stop” by tinity123 on devintart.com

I have now reached the point where I believe I can live with my new situation, though my stomach will never completely forgive me for what I did to it, and I don’t regret it quite as much as I used to. However, I am not yet at the point where I would do it again.

Life is slowly reaching a more normal state again, and I can for short periods of time lie on my side rather than flat on my back, and I can take short walks around the neighbourhood. My best friend and self-declared sister Hedwig returned from her current dwelling in the South (like the birds, she migrated south in the fall, while I curled up in my pit up north and went into hibernation) a few days ago, so the past two days we’ve been taking daily walks to my favourite café, enjoying different types of coffee and smoothies (it takes me about 2 hours to finish a smoothie these days). Before this I have been cooped up at home, slowly driving myself crazy, so I can not express how grateful I am to have my Hedwig back, even if it just is for 1,5 week, and how grateful I am that she agrees to keep up with my currently very slow pace. Except for a few hours in April, I haven’t seen her since Christmas, which is an excruciatingly long time for two friends who used to live just down the hall from each other, and who used to eat breakfast together almost every day. I really miss that.

In other news, as I’ve come to an understanding with my stomach and been able to get more fluids and energy into my system, I’ve also been feeling up to doing more than just watching TV. I’m still trying to get through Saladin Ahmed’s debut novel Throne of the Crescent Moon. It’s a well-written novel, but it’s just not my kind of fantasy-novel and so I have to force myself to pick it up just to get through the 10 chapters my friend and I agreed on finishing up before this weekend. Still, every book deserves a chance, so I will finish those 10 chapters before I let someone adopt my copy of the book, and who knows; I might end up loving it after all. So far I’ve finished about 5 chapters, so Saladin, you have 5 more chapters to convince me of your brilliance. (I love the name Saladin btw… It sounds so mystical and foreign.)

I also started reading the book series Brides of the Kindred by Evangeline Anderson. I’m not so sure about the language she uses, it’s not something I would ever write myself and there is a lot of focus on sex, but what else is new, right? I do like the concept of Alien Warriors saving the Earth from invasion from another, hostile alien race. Apparently, the Kindred (the friendly aliens) mostly have male children, so then have to seek out brides from other planets, which they have also done in the past, resulting in three different types of Kindred. You have the Beast Kindred, the Tranq Kindred, and the Twin Kindred. The Beast is a bit ferocious and hot-tempered, the Tranq or Blood Kindred are very level headed but grow fangs and bite their partner during sex, and the Twins are just that; twins that can’t be separated and share one bride.

So far I have only read the first book and a few chapters of the second book, and I have yet to actually like or feel any sympathy with the ‘brides’ that are the female main characters, but I do like the guys. The women have so far been too stuck up and skittish for my taste, not the strong heroines that I have come to expect in books by female authors, but the third book is about a character that I really like, so I’ll at least read the first three books and give the author a chance to redeem herself. Besides, I like books about aliens that aren’t too Sci-Fi.

Reading Grace’s latest blog post on her blog “Books Without Any Pictures” made me desperately want my own dragon to live on my blog. Perhaps a brother or cousin of her Krill… Having one who liked cold coffee and tea would be perfect, since I have a tendency to forget my cup of coffee/tea while I’m blogging after a few sips, so I’m always left with half a cup of cold coffee/tea once I’m done with my post. Today is no exception… Does anyone know of such a dragon that would be willing to guard my blog and live on cold tea and coffee, and the occasional trashed draft? Please let me know, I promise to feed him on a regular basis.

This entry was posted in Books, Weightloss Surgery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Books, Dragons, Aliens and my Stomach.

  1. Once, long ago, I drank too much soda and it did funny things to my appetite. Treat your stomach well, lest the same happen to you.

    • Dravite says:

      My stomach is mostly upset with me because I had surgery done to it two weeks ago, and it’s still in shock 🙂 I don’t think I can have even a single sip of carbonated drink any more

Leave a Reply

