What Happened to the Summer?

It's okay to wake up early when I have this to wake up to

It’s okay to wake up early when I have this to wake up to

As it is the middle of the summer, and I still can’t work due to the surgery I had, I’ve been staying with my parents, both to save money, and because it’s nice to spend more time with them. My parents have this ridiculously expensive coffee machine, and I’m completely and utterly in love with the thing. I’m sure I have mentioned it before, but in my opinion; anything that grinds the beans for you and uses real milk to make the foam on your latte is worth several declarations of love and devotion.

I’m sitting here with my latte and looking out the window, wondering what on earth happened to the summer?! It’s been raining for almost a week now, and there is way too much cold wind for summer, even here. The weather looks more like autumn or a bad spring, than summer… Needless to say, I’m not sad to be leaving the country on Friday…

Did I mention that Friday will find me launching on the deck of a huge cruise ship in Barcelona, enjoying a good book and a smoothie? No? Yes? I’m going to brag some more anyway because I’m so incredibly excited! I’ve never been on a cruise before, and I’ve never been to any of the sites we will be visiting before either.

We will be visiting Naples and Pompeii (I’ve always wanted to see Pompeii), Civitavecchia (the port closest to Rome, but I’ve already been to Rome, so I won’t be paying 200$ to go into Rome for a day), Livorno and Florence/Pisa, Provence and Marseille, Palma in Majorca, and Barcelona. We are spending a couple of days in Barcelona before boarding the ship, so I get to see the architect Antoni Gaudi’s la Pedrera, Sagrada Familia and Parc Güell. I’m more excited about seeing all these different cities than spending time bathing and getting a tan, especially since I’m not allowed to swim yet.

I’ve always loved traveling. Packing for a trip, charging my kindle to make sure that it will last me the entire trip, organizing the tickets and my passport, picking out the clothes and shoes that I will need and trying to make sure I have enough room for some shopping… Not to mention planning which sites I want to see and which shopping streets I want to visit; it’s such a thrill!

How about you? What are your plans for the summer? Do you like traveling as much as I do? If you could pick anywhere in the world; where would you go and with whom?

La Sagrada Familia in Barcelona

This entry was posted in Places and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

