The Curse of Assigned Reading.

It’s a fact of life that no matter how interesting the topic really is; having to write a term paper on it will turn said topic into the most horrible and and boring topic you can ever imagine. -I have tried this several times, writing about things that I originally find fascinating and enjoyable, and every time, without exception, I have ended up bored and frustrated. Elizabeth I of England, Fanfiction, even Pottermore becomes dull subjects, and my motivation just seeps out of me, going goddess knows where.

As you might have noticed, I’ve been MIA for quite some time now, and I blame that on my studies (and laziness, but it’s easier to blame it on my studies). I just handed in my second exam on Monday, this one on the remediation of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone in Pottermore, and how transmedia storytelling and convergence is expressed in Pottermore. Looking back on it, it really was an interesting subject, though I was ready to show both the term “Convergence” and “Transmedia Storytelling” up Jenkins’ ass by the time I was done with it. Funny how exams not only turns subjects boring, but it also turns level-headed, calm and confident students into raging beast, especially on Sundays. Who’s idea was it to make coffee unavailable on campus before 11am on Saturdays and Sundays? Honestly! If the library is open, then so should the coffee shop be.

As I entered my fourth week of exams, my room had grown into a jungle of half-dirty clothes and dirty plastic plates because all I had been doing in there was eat and sleep, and I hadn’t done the dishes in weeks, hence the plastic plates. Last night I had a nightmare about being forced to do the dishes, and seeing as my sink had turned into a swamp (I think stuff was growing in there), it was a scary nightmare indeed. So today I put on my big-girl panties and did the dishes, which took me a full hour and lots of gagging. My fingers now resemble raisins, but at least it’s safe to cook again. I firmly believe that there would have been no saving the dishes if I had waited one more week, and I would have thrown the swamp away and gotten new pots, pans, plates and cutlery.

Anyway, I can’t wait to finish my degree and be done with this. Nothing is quite as stressful as having exams looming over you, and nothing makes you feel as light as you feel when you hand in a particularly tricky one. I swear, I don’t even care how I do on them, I’m just thrilled to have handed in 2/3 exams. And now, having done something productive today (the dishes), I’ll reward myself with diving into my book.

How about you guys? Are you taking any exams this term? If so, how are you dealing with the stress?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Curse of Assigned Reading.

  1. umm…dealing with stress is like dealing with a dinosaur. lol but somehow i do it with peace.

    • Dravite says:

      Oh, now I got a very entertaining mental image of you (in my mind you look like Popeye) calmly talking down an enraged dinosaur…

      But I think I know what you mean, just taking the time to breath deeply and calm myself down does help, for a short time at least.

Leave a Reply

