To eat meat, or not to eat meat…

I have always admired those who can stick to a vegetarian lifestyle. I like the idea of it, and it goes over very well with my religion and my conscience. However, I’m just not that fond of vegetables, so I fear I would starve to death within a few weeks if I tried it.

I don’t like the idea of innocent animals living their lives in a crowded farm and then getting killed, only so that I can eat their meat, especially since we don’t really need meat to survive. If I liked beans and lentils, I would be more than happy to live on those, but I just don’t… However, I am hoping that is because I’ve never tasted them done properly. I even tried giving up meat a few years ago, I’m ashamed to say that despite my enthusiasm in my post about it, I believe I lasted three days before I gave up.

As some of you might know, I had gastric sleeve surgery in late June this year, and ever since my already sensitive stomach has been even more sensitive. Some days, even the thought of heavy food such as meat and egg makes me sick, and most of the time I live on a diet of what we call crisp bread. I believe crisp bread is mainly just eaten in Scandinavia, but it’s really good, stores well, and best of all; it doesn’t turn into a lump of dough in your stomach. It has become really popular the past years, and many people make it themselves rather than buy it from the store. I would too, if I had an oven, which I don’t.

I made myself an egg for breakfast this morning, and I wasn’t even able to get down half of it, which is less than 1/4 of what I used to be able to eat of this kind of food. So as I’m sitting here, trying to talk my stomach into a calm state again after this upsetting breakfast, I’m thinking that I might give this vegetarian lifestyle another chance… Maybe I’ll be a light version of a vegetarian, one who rarely eats meat… I will keep eating fish though, I love fish (I’m Norwegian, so I have to love fish) and I think it’s really good for you. Besides, fish doesn’t upset my ridiculously sensitive stomach, so I won’t give it up. Milk, eggs and cheese is also alright with me because no animals had to die to provide it. I know that some farms don’t treat their animals well, but I grew up visiting my uncle’s farm, and he always treated his cows well so that’s the picture I have of how a farm is run.

I’ll give it a week, living on vegetables, fruits and nuts, and then I’ll let you know how it went.
Are any of you vegetarians? If so, do you have any tips for me and my trial run?

…Or maybe I’ll give it a few days instead of a week… Depends on how starved I am šŸ˜‰

Vegetarian by Ricoo

This entry was posted in Food, Pagan, Weightloss Surgery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To eat meat, or not to eat meat…

  1. Grace says:

    Soups are good and easy on the stomach. You can make them vegetarian or not, depending on what sounds appetizing and what you have in your fridge, and there are infinite flavor possibilities. I’m not vegetarian, but I’m also not a huge fan of meat, so I don’t eat it nearly as often as most people, and when I do, I treat it more like a side than the main event. Just make sure you’re getting enough protein from other sources, and you’ll be fine. šŸ™‚

    • Dravite says:

      Sounds like you eat about as much meat as I do ^^
      I am working on getting in enough proteins, at the moment I try to drink at least one protein shake a day to make sure that I get a fair amount of proteins, especially since I don’t eat as much as I used to

  2. Ani says:

    I have been a vegetarian for a little while now and now eat about 90% vegan. I have many recipes on my blog that you might enjoy. Start with simple dishes, but try different cooking techniques and ingredients! It is fun to experiment. Good luck and I am here if you have any questions.

Leave a Reply

