Going (coco)nuts!

As the title indicates, I feel slightly nuts at the moment.

I have just spent a good ten minutes massaging coconut oil into my scalp. It looks awful, my hair is limp and oily, and it looks like I haven’t bothered to wash it for weeks. However, it feels wonderful, and smells delicious. đŸ˜‰

Coconut oil is said to have wonderful properties, It stimulates healing of wounds and growth, it is anti-bacterial and highly moisturizing, it has been demonstrated to have anti-inflammatory properties, and some studies even show that it is anti-fungal and should be used to treat treatment of fungal infections, which includes dandruff. I have also heard that it stimulates hair-growth, which suits me perfectly.

All in all, this means that if you have a sensitive, irritated or dry scalp, coconut oil might just be the answer to your problems. At least I hope so, seeing as my dry scalp is stubbornly trying to kill me during the cold winter months. I moved north of the polar-circle last year, and the winters here are so much colder than I am used to, and the air is more dry, which does not suit my skin very well. Especially my scalp and face has been suffering.

I tried rubbing this oil into my scalp and leaving it on for about 30 minutes a few days ago before a shower, and I really saw a difference after just one time. My scalp was not as read and irritated as it usually is after a shower, so today I rubbed a generous amount (about 1 tablespoon) into my scalp and hair, and I plan to leave it in over night to really give it time to work its magic. After all, the night is when our skin naturally heals itself and rests.

Other than the fact that coconut oil is so good for your skin, it is also a cheap substitute for expensive oils and fancy shampoos that you can buy, and it is natural. I like the fact that it is so basic, it contains just one ingredient, and cuts out all the fancy words that I have no idea what means when I read the list of ingredients on the back of my other products. You can get the oil in any health food stores, or some regular food stores. I got mine at the local food store, next to the gluten-free isle.

You can of course also use it for cooking, baking, or in smoothies. Personally, I don’t cook much because I don’t really have a kitchen to do so in, so I’ll stick to rubbing the stuff in my hair and face for the time being. đŸ˜‰ The oil works a bit like butter, it’s white and has a buttery texture and feel to it, but melts easily in your hands, so just melt it in your hands and rub it into your scalp and hair. It is however too thick to use in your hair after a shower, because it makes your hair look a bit dirty, so make sure to wash your hair throughly afterwards.

Anyway, if you have a dry or irritated scalp, you should definitely give it a try. It’s cheap, so it doesn’t cost you much to try it, and at least for me it works wonders.

I hope you are all enjoying your weekends, be it curled up under a blanket with a book and a cup of tea like me, or out and about in a more humane climate.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

