Musing Monday – 03.02. 2014

Musing Monday Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…
• Describe one of your reading habits.
Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it! 
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

I have recently gotten my hands on quite a lot of books, more books than I really have time to be reading on top of my studies, but what the hell. Books are more fun anyway.  I stumbled across the audiobook version of Dan Brown’s Inferno while shelving books at work (as some of you know, I work part time in a library) and took it home with me. As a result, I have spent a good portion of this weekend staring at the ceiling or playing solitaire on my phone while listening to Robert Langdon’s adventures. I am not disappointed, and I say it has been time well spent.

In addition to this, I have three books sitting on my kindle, waiting for me to read them. The first one is the very much anticipated and slightly feared last and final installment to the Nighthuntress series by Jeaniene Frost, Up From the Grave. I am both excited and fearful about this book, because I really need Jeaniene Frost to pull this off. I love these characters, damn it!

I was also so lucky as to receive a review copy of two books this month. The first one was the book The Phoenix Girls – Book II, The Crimson Brand by Brian Knight, published by JournalStone Publishing. I have not read the first book, but it looks like an interesting YA fantasy novel.
The second book is called Forever by Pati Nagle, published by Book View Cafe.  This is the third book in a saga, and I have not read the previous books, which puts the book to another test; can it capture a reader who is new to the saga? And will it at all make sense without reading the other two books? In my opinion, a really good book can be read both independently and as a part of a series, it should have a plot of its own, and be able to lead the reader along even though they missed the first parts of the journey.

This entry was posted in Books, Musing Monday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Musing Monday – 03.02. 2014

  1. C. C. Gevry says:

    Neat books you’ve come across this week. Hope you enjoy reading. Love the cover on The Phoenix Girls.

    Hope you’ll visit me today at http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2014/02/musing-mondays-february-3.html

  2. Rosa Silva says:

    I also been wanting to read Inferno by Dan Brown. I’m glad you enjoyed it!
    Here’s my musing: http://bookishfindings.blogspot.com/2014/02/musing-mondays-and-monthly-roundup.html

  3. Gigi Ann says:

    I agree with you about series books being stand-alone books also. I don’t really read series books unless they are stand-alone books as well. I don’t like cliff-hangers, not for me.

  4. Sonia Lal says:

    I can’t listen to audio books, it’s hard to focus. But the phoenix books looks so good.

    Sonia Lal

Leave a Reply

