WWW Wednesday 05.02. 2014

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

www_wednesdays4


• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

 

 

Right at this moment, I am not reading anything because I just finished a book last night. A bit too late to be honest, but it was one of those books that stays glued to your hand from the moment you pick it up, until the moment you finish it.

The before-mentioned book was “Up from the Grave” by Jeaniene Frost, the 7th and final book in the Nighthuntress series. The book was as well written and exciting as everything else Jeaniene Frost has written (I would know, because I have literally read every single thing that she has had published), and with it she ended Cat and Bones story, though I don’t doubt that we will meet them again, but not as the main characters. Ending a series is always difficult, after so many books, how do you wrap things up and give your characters a happy ending without having them walk into the sunset hand in hand? Especially a series like this one, where each book can be read separately and there is not one plot or goal that runs through them all? In series like the Harry Potter ones, you have one big plot running through the series, and several smaller ones that ends with each book, so wrapping things up is more or less easy (though you have to knit all the loose ends together and fill in the plot holes), but the Nighthuntress series did not have this.
In a way, I think Frost did a good job, though there are a few things that irk me, that I saw coming a mile away, and that to me just didn’t really fit the characters. Though it should be said that if this had to happen, at least Frost did it right with (most of) the details of the plot twist, and that’s all I can say on the issue without spoiling it for you.
For those of you who has read the series; Ian makes an excellent appearance in the book, and he definitely deserves his own book(s) after this, and it looks like he just might get that. You will love him in this book, even Cat (sliiiightly reluctantly) does by the end of the book. Nothing like hacking off a couple of Ghouls’ heads to win her love, you know.

The other book that I just could not put down and ended up reading into the night was “Kinked” by Thea Harrison, the 6th book in the Elder Races series. I didn’t expect to love this book as much as I did, because I didn’t really like any of the main characters before I started reading the book. Aryal was always my least favourite sentinel until the two new ones joined the party, then Quentin became it, and now I was supposed to read a book about the two of them? Still, I love the series, and I very much intended to read the upcoming books in it, so I was prepared to suffer through it. Getting in Aryal’s head changed my view on her. You learn how she thinks and the motivation behind her actions, and you just have to love her. Funny how your view of a character can do a 180 degree turn when you get in their head, huh? At least this time it was for the better, and not for the worse as it was when I read about the sentinel Rune. If you have not read these books, I highly recommend them, they are exciting, well written, and Thea Harrison really knows how to build her fandom and bring you into it.

For the last question, what do I think I will read next? Honestly, I have no idea. I am still in that fatigued, grieving state of having recently finished two really really good books, and that little voice is whispering “now what am I supposed to do with my life?!”. Got any suggestions for me?

Now if you will excuse me, I need to go and fill my veins with coffee. 4 late nights of reading in a row is about as much as I can handle on top of work and my studies. All hail the Goddess Nescafe, Queen of all beverages.
I’m seriously thinking about printing out and framing the coffee prayer.

This entry was posted in Books, WWW Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WWW Wednesday 05.02. 2014

  1. I will have to check out the Nighthuntress series. It sounds like my kind of read. Here is my WWW http://cynthiastacey.com/2014/02/05/www-wednesdays-feb-5/

    • Dravite says:

      If you like paranormal books, then you are sure to like Jeaniene Frost’s book. They are fast-moving but with depth, funny, and the main character Cat is awesome. Strong, but with flaws, and the characters learn and develop through the series which is really important to me if I am to read several books about the same characters

  2. Kristen says:

    I know exactly what you mean by having the book fatigue and “now what?!” feelings. I went through that earlier this week after reading Beneath a Meth Moon by Jacqueline Woodson.

    • Dravite says:

      It feels a bit like loosing a friend, doesn’t it? Or having a friend move away, since you could technically visit the book again.
      I haven’t heard of that book, what kind is it?

      • Kristen says:

        Exactly! It’s like mourning over a lost friend. It’s a young adult book about a girl that struggles with addiction. I daresay that the only thing young adult about it is the age of the main character. It’s a book that everyone should read, regardless of age!

  3. Book Bunny says:

    Who of us book lovers haven’t sometimes stayed up way too late because of a really good book! 😉 It has happened to me so many times but I regret nothing! I’m currently looking for a book which would do that to me yet again.. 🙂

    Here’s my www: http://www.bookbunnys.com/2014/02/05/www-wednesday-5-2-2014/

Leave a Reply

