Everything Comes with a Price

Some of you might be wondering how I’m doing with my weight loss and life after having a Gastric Sleeve procedure done.

Mostly, I’m doing great. I have lost almost 40kg, which is about 88 pounds, and I am very very close to the magical 25 in BMI, which is when I will no longer be classified as overweight. My BMI is now 25,3 so I still have a little-bit left to go, but reaching the point where my weight is “normal” rather than “overweight” would mean a lot to me.

I can eat more now, and rarely have dumping. I have never had the kind of dumping where I would throw up or get a fever, but I would sometimes take one bite too much if I was eating too fast, and then get nauseous and dizzy to the point where I would have to just lie down for about 15 minutes. It has been almost 8 months, and though I can eat more than I used to, my stomach has not really stretched that much. I have reached that point where I am content with the size of it; I no longer wish it was a little bit bigger (which I did the first few months), nor do I wish I could shrink it again.

There are a few consequences from such a surgery that I have had to pay however. As you know, I have lost a lot of hair and my skin is not as firm as it used to be any more. In addition to that, I get these dizzy spells now and then, where my vision will blur and I have to grab something to stay upright. It’s really annoying, and I can no longer shower in the morning without eating something first.

Another thing that has happened the past month really scared me until I got it figured out today. I have been to see the doctor (not my doctor, since I’m studying miles and miles away from my hometown) countless times the past month with excruciating pain in my stomach. It feels a bit like something is trying to claw itself out from between your ribs high on the right side, and the pain radiates through your entire right side. So they took tests, and more tests and more tests, and most of the doctors hadn’t even heard of a Gastric Sleeve, which did not exactly calm my nerves.
Some googling and looking through different chat rooms online gave me a suggestion though, and the doctor agreed that it might be gallstones, which apparently is quite common when you rapidly loose a lot of weight. I had ultrasound done today which confirmed that it was indeed gallstones. There is no cure unless I want to remove the whole thing, which I don’t unless it keeps bothering me as much as it has the past month, but at least now I know what it it, and it’s not dangerous unless I get a fever. Like I mentioned before, I think it is important to write about these things to give those considering the surgery a true picture of what it is like. Yes you will loose a lot of weight, but there is a price to pay, and you should be aware of that. Granted, you would have to pay this price if you lost the weight without a surgery as well, especially if you lost it this fast.

I don’t regret it, but this past month has not been easy. I’ve been scared, alone, and in pain. Of course, the pain comes at night, and has kept me up all night more than once, leaving me like a walking, talking zombie for a few days. So now you know, the good the bad and the ugly, and you can decide for yourself if you think it would be worth it. It was for me.

This entry was posted in Weightloss Surgery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Everything Comes with a Price

  1. My Mum had part of her gall bladder removed a few years ago when she developed gallstones. She now needs to eat lesser portions but more often throughout the day. She’s perfectly fine though, but then, she didn’t have any other complications.
    Anyway, very pleased to hear that you’re slowly trudging back to normal. Although, the process will be truly complete when your readers shall be graced with a photograph of you on the blog! I’m sure your insecurities are in your head. One who writes so well must be a beautiful person, even with a few extra kilos 🙂

    • Dravite says:

      I think I’d be in trouble if I were to eat even smaller meals than I already am… But did that make the stones go away? Like she stopped developing them when she removed parts of the bladder? I didn’t know you could remove just parts of it. Sounds way better than removing the entire thing, I’ve removed enough organs lately 😉

      Hmm… I suppose you are right, but I don’t think I could do a before-and-after picture, simply because I don’t have any before pictures. I spent my teenage years hiding from cameras, and it’s only the past months that I have been able to somewhat stop myself from diving behind random people whenever a camera comes up.
      But thank you! Not so sure about the “beautiful” part, but I’m at least more comfortable in my own skin now ^^

Leave a Reply

