Musing Monday 17.02 2014

Musing MondayMusing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…
• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it! 
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

Here is a short musing for you; suddenly I find myself caught up with every series that I am reading, and there are no books waiting for me on my kindle, and I have already almost exhausted my book-budget for the month. What to do? 

I could look through the shelves at the library, but oddly enough most of the literature there is in Norwegian, and I prefer to read books in the original language, and I’m in mood for something easy yet entertaining that won’t hurt my brain. I do after all read for fun and enjoyment, and what I enjoy is paranormal romance, a genre which is not thriving in the Norwegian market due to the simple fact that there are so few Norwegians in the world, and even fewer who reads paranormal romance. I suppose that is why most who do usually reads in English.

Where do you go to get your book-fixes? Have you got any suggestions for a ‘can’t put it down, stay up all night reading’ book for me? I’m in dire need of one. I am going to work in an hour, so hopefully a book will jump out at me while I’m shelving and cataloguing.

This entry was posted in Books, Musing Monday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Musing Monday 17.02 2014

  1. I usually buy a lot of my books, but I also have participated in virtual book tours, which keeps me supplied with more books than I could ever possibly read. Actually, I also promote books online and next month we have a virtual book tour for Written in Ruberah, which is a paranormal romance. Since paranormal isn’t a genre I read a lot of, I don’t have any suggestions for you, but I hope there might be some Kindle freebies in that genre for you.

    Good luck in your search.

    http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2014/02/monday-musings-february-17.html

  2. Sonia Lal says:

    I recently got a few good suggestions from GoodReads recommendations.

    But for paranormal romance, hmm, well, if you don’t mind kinky erotica, Joey. W. Hill vampire queen books are good.

    If you do mind, can I suggest the Eve Dallas books by JD Robb? It’s marketed as romantic suspense, and there are few paranormal elements (i.e. paranormal creatures like vampires and werewolves) but there is some similarity.

    ALSO: Nalini Singh is an excellent paranormal romance writer.

    Mine: http://storytreasury.wordpress.com/2014/02/17/concealed-in-death-out-tomorrow/

    • Dravite says:

      I have actually been reading Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series. I just reached a book about a year ago that I didn’t like and that really bored me (Blaze of Memory) and so I never really finished it and got to the rest of them.
      Thank you for reminding me of them though, I did get through it now and I’m currently devouring the rest of the books. 😉

Leave a Reply

