Musing Monday 03.03. 2014

Musing MondayMusing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…
• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).

• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it! 
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

As some of you know, I was having somewhat of an existencial crisis the last few weeks, having caught up with everything that I was planning on reading. Sonia Lal commented and suggested Nalini Singh’s books. I thought I had reviewed them before, but scrolling through my posts from last year I can’t find them, so here we go. 🙂

I started reading Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series exactly one year ago today. Seriously, I finished the first book on the 3rd of March 2013 according to Goodreads. I love these books, they have strong believeable characters that actually grow and develop throughout the books, the plot throughout the series is interesting, not to mention the hot changeling guys. -if you know me, then you know that tall dark and dangerous is what makes my knees weak, the more alpha the better. To a certain degree of course, he better respect the girl.

The series is set a bit into the future based on the technology, and though we are on earth, there are a few changes. Earth is inhabited by 3 different races. Humans, Changelings and the Psy. Humans are humans as we know them, the changelings can change into different animals, divided into packs based on the animal they change into. Leopards are one pack, the wolves another, and they usually mate with other Changelings of the same breed as them. Then we have the Psy.
Where the Changelings are physically stronger and faster than humans, the Psy’s strength is in the mind. They have mental powers, some telepathy, some telekinetic, some have a talent for scanning and discovering illness and so on. They are also all connected mentally, and thus have to shield their mind to prevent themselves from going mad from all the thoughts and impressions they are constantly picking up. Mental illness was a great problem from them, so about a century ago they decided to ban emotion. As a result, they are brilliant and strong, but ice cold. Children are conceived  medically and raised to not feel any emotions, never to be loved by their parents. They call it conditioning, and as we enter this world it is slowly starting to fail in certain individuals.

The first book follows Sasha Duncan, the daughter of one of the most powerful and lethal Psy women alive, Counselor Nikita Duncan. Sasha should be one of the most powerful psy herself, being born with the eyes of a cardinal (the most powerful psy have night-sky eyes and are called cardinals), but she has never manifested any strong powers, and is thus considered flawed. She has never been able to completely turn of her emotions the way she was taught, and she know that if anyone finds out about it, she will have her personality wiped completely and her own mother will be the one to send her in to have them do it. I’m not going to give up why, but as she meets the leopard alpha Lucas the reason for her “flaw” is revealed.

So, why am I reviewing these now? Well, I didn’t really like book 7, so I halfway through it I ended up taking a break. This break lasted almost a

Book #10 in the Psy-Changeling Series.

year, but now I’m back and devouring these changeling men again. I still don’t like the 7th book, but it’s worth reading through it just to keep up with the plot of the series and read the rest of them. Because honestly, who doesn’t love conflicting emotions, strong men and individuals (both male and female) with powers that could destroy them if they don’t learn to control them? The thing with these books though is that I would read them even if they didn’t have all of that, because the plot is strong and interesting. It has some of the same underlying currents of the Hunger Games, Divergent, Delirium, Matched, Uglies and all the other future, government-is-bad books that are so popular these days, but without the YA clichés that I found so annoying in the before mentioned examples. It’s more subtle, complex and developed, and thus I can live with it. I’m Norwegian, I trust my government (according to statistics  and one of my professors who has written a published paper on the subject; Norwegians score extremely high when it comes to trust in their government and strangers) and so I don’t like reading books where the government is spying on us. It’s an uncomfortable thought, and I’d rather be happy and naive thank-you-very-much. The Psy-Changeling series have some of the bad-government issues going on, but it’s subtle and not dumped on you like a bucket of ice-cold water, so I can live with it.

This entry was posted in Musing Monday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Musing Monday 03.03. 2014

  1. I love the series and have read them all. I like her other series too. Here is my post: Mixed Book Bag

Leave a Reply

