Teaser Tuesday 04.03. 2014

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser is from the book “Tangle of Need” by Nalini Singh, which is the 11th book in the Psy-Changeling series. Personally, I was not quite sure if I wanted to start reading a series where so many of the books had already been released. 13 books is a lot to catch up on, and that might also be part of what caused me to take a break from the series, but I’m very glad that I gave them a chance, and that I picked them up again. It’s a good read 🙂

“Do you think anyone will want to take the risk?” Adria asked, worry and empathy battling for space within her. Sam, strong, loyal, courageous, was both a dominant and human. It would devastate him if he fell victim to a Psy mental violation, the act a savage blow to the heart of his nature. “I can see why they would.”
Bracing his forearms on his thighs, Riaz said, “I have to admit, I never really considered just how vulnerable humans must feel,” a troubled expression marking the strong lines of his features.

61% into the kindle edition from Amazon.com

Now, for some clarifications. I wrote a bit about this series yesterday, but some things still needs to be clarified a bit more. When they speak of dominants, they speak from a wolf’s perspective, meaning the more aggressive and protective members of the wolf pack. Not a dominant in an S&M kind of way, I have yet to see a single whip in this series. Though I have seen some leather jackets.

As I explained yesterday, we are dealing with three races. Humans, Changelings and Psy. The Changelings have a natural shield around their minds, preventing the Psy from reading their thoughts or controlling them without bashing through this shield and leaving them more or less braindead. The Humans do not, which leaves them particularly vulnerable to having their minds invaded against their will. Now something has come into play that could help them shield their minds (I’m not going to tell you what or how) but as with everything else, it comes with a steep prize or a risk, which is what is being discussed.

This entry was posted in Books, Teaser Tuesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Teaser Tuesday 04.03. 2014

  1. glamorousbooks says:

    Great blog! I would love it if you would follow me back at: http://www.authorsophia.wordpress.com for author interviews, book reviews, articles on life, career, beauty, travel, and a diary from sunny Spain! Also, my NEW upcoming book x

  2. Great teaser!

    Here is my teaser post.

  3. This sounds really interesting but I think it’s also one of those reads where you do have to start at the beginning so you know exactly what is going on with whom! Thanks for sharing 🙂
    My Teaser
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    • Dravite says:

      Yes, one should definitely start at the beginning, because though there are smaller plots in each book, and you see things from different perspectives, the main plot runs through the entire series.

  4. Ohhh this sounds interesting. Great teaser. Thanks for stopping by my site

    • Dravite says:

      I had to look it up, since she both looks (to my untrained eye anyway) and sounds like she is Indian. Apparently she was born in Fiji but raised in New Zealand.
      The language is close to perfect. Meaning that I have not once noticed any mistakes or bad grammar, and I’m pretty picky when it comes to these things.
      I have discarded more than one book for bad language (50 Shades of Grey being the most extreme I have ever come across that is written for adults but with the language of a child)
      She is no Tolkien, who was a professor in languages, but it’s well written and very captivating.

      • Ah, that’s good then. Maybe it stems from being brought up in an English speaking country. I agree, I don’t always need Dickens, but I simply cannot put up with shoddy writing. In that sense, one Indian author I love is Amitav Ghosh. Do read The Hungry Tide if you come across it cheaply!

Leave a Reply

