Friday Finds 14.03. 2014

FRIDAY FINDS showcases the books you ‘found’ and added to your To Be Read (TBR) list… whether you found them online, or in a bookstore, or in the library — wherever! (they aren’t necessarily books you purchased).

What books have you “found” this week? Share them with me in a comment, or post me a link to your blog so that I can check them out 🙂

I have been stumbling across several books this week. 

“Frøya” by the Swedish author Britt-Mari Näsström is a book about the Norse goddess Freya. I have always been fascinated by the Norse mythology, and though I have read about Freya before it has always been fragmented and usually in fiction books, so I couldn’t trust the authenticity of it. So I will at least be browsing through this book and brush up on my mythology. We did after all use to worship Freya in Norway.

My second find was a book I happened to come across in our English Fiction section at the library, and it is a book I have been meaning to read for years now. “Memoirs of a Geisha” by Arthus Golden. I was so captivated by the movie when I first saw it in 2005, and I have been meaning to read the book ever since. There is a second book about this story named “Geisha of Gion” written by Mineko Iwasaki, the person whom Memoirs of a Geisha is based. Arthur Golden interviewed Mineko Iwasaki to gether background information for his book, and she later sued him for basing the book on her life. She then wrote her own biography, so I think it would be really interesting to read both of them to see just how much Golden based his book on her life, and where he depicted her wrong.

So, these are my finds this week. What are yours? Please share them with me, and have an awesome Friday!

This entry was posted in Books, Friday Finds and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friday Finds 14.03. 2014

  1. Memoirs of a Geisha is a good book, I think you’d quite like it. Speaking of mythology, have you read Lamia by Tristan Travis?

    • Dravite says:

      I think I’d like it too ^^I remember how much the movie fascinated me, and it still does.
      I haven’t read that, should I? *goes to look it up*

  2. Ohhhh, I love “Memoirs of a Geisha”!!! I read it for a book club I belonged to when this first came out. It’s AMAZING!!!! “Memoirs of a Geisha” by Arthur Golden is definitely one of my all time favorite novels. I liked it better than the movie. So, if you enjoyed the movie version, you’ll love the novel.

  3. Memoirs of a Trisha is an amazing read. The book about the Norse Godess Froyer looks interesting too. The little I know about Norse mythology comes from my son’s interest in the subject when he was young.

  4. Grace says:

    I read Memoirs of a Geisha years ago and loved it. Happy reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

