Enjoy it While it Lasts

I love living in a proper house. After years in a one-room flat, living in a proper house feels like heaven.

Image belongs to Rassvetnaya on Deviantart.

Normally, my house is filled to the brim with women, ranging from sisters and my mother, to cousins, aunts and friends dropping by, so there is rarely quiet to be found. It’s nice, being surrounded by family and friends, and it makes me feel more connected and tuned in to what’s going on in their lives.
However, as much as I love them, it’s a blessing whenever I have the house to myself.

The entire bunch of sisters, my mother, and my aunt and cousins left for a Greek Island two days ago, and the house is so blissfully quiet. I love being home alone and doing everything in my time and my way with an entire house at my disposal.

Yesterday I enjoyed my morning cup of coffee outside in the garden with my toes in the grass and birds chirping, and today I’m having a breakfasts smoothie at the dining room table with my laptop. Having room for a proper blender and a coffeemaker, and eating at a proper table is not something you take for granted when you are a student.

We have had a real heat-wave these past days which to us Norwegians came as quite a shock. I mean, the city where I have been living and studying for the past two years had snowfall just a few weeks ago! We are not used to the temperature climbing above 20°C, let alone 29,9°C! I’m not built for this kind of heat, it knocks me out. Better try to enjoy it while I can though, because I doubt it will last very long. That goes for the quiet around here too actually, I better enjoy that as well while it lasts. 😉 

On the reading front, I’m currently devouring everything I can find by Thea Harrison. I love her way of writing and just can’t get enough! I recently reviewed two books in the Spice Box collection. To be honest, they weren’t my cup of tea, but I tried to be fair to the authors. I originally received three books in the collection, but one was painful to read. Since they give you the books for free to review them, I don’t think it would be fair to slaughter one of them, yet I couldn’t find anything nice to write about it, so I chose to not review it. I won’t give a good review on a book I didn’t like.

How are you guys enjoying your summers? Are you getting any reading done? The summer is the perfect time to dig into the huge pile of books that you have been meaning to read. 🙂 

This entry was posted in Books, Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Enjoy it While it Lasts

  1. Grace says:

    It’s been a nice but busy summer so far. Not getting as much reading done as I want, but I have been getting more time outside. 🙂

Leave a Reply

