October Love

My name is Dravite, and I love October.

Something about October makes my heart beat faster, and I feel like my soul is vibrating. Part of it must be the witch in me, Samhain is fast approaching, and witches all over the globe are coming to life and waking up, because it’s okay to be a little witchy in october.

Samhain is probably the sabbath that most people celebrate, not only is it the favorite sabbath of most pagans, but who doesn’t love Halloween? Pagan or Christian, it doesn’t really matter when Samhain/Halloween/All Hallows Eve/All Souls Night is concerned. So I get to glow and freely express my love for halloween, and no one bats an eye at it.

Another reason to love October is how everything starts to calm down this time of the year. Unless you’re a student of course, then October/November is probably everything but calm. However, I am not a student this semester, so I can curl up in a chair in front of a roaring fire with a blanket, a good book, and a cup of Bigelow’s Pumpkin Spice tea. I have 6 boxes off the stuff because I had to buy an entire case in order for them to ship it to Norway. Not that I’m complaining, I’m sure I’m all out in a year or two.

I believe that I told you earlier that I’m working Mondays at the local library, which I love, and it’s priceless experience for when I’ve finished my degree in Library Science next spring. As it turns out, the only other librarian is going on a holiday in November, so they’re hiring me to cover her shifts until the 17th of December; I swear I could have kissed her, I was so happy! That means 7-8 hours of work five days a week for a month doing something I truly enjoy and love doing, and I’ll even get paid doing it!

Honestly, I’ve been looking forwards to this time of year all summer. Summer is great, it’s warm and sunny which is a bit plus if you’re as easily cold as I am, but nothing beats the magic of autumn. My friends and I are traveling to London in early November, and I can’t wait to do the Harry Potter studio tour and tasting Butterbeer for the first time. I’m even getting my first Harry Potter-inspired tattoo in London. I’m getting the Deathly Hallows symbol on my arm with a splash of color, so it won’t be too obvious that it’s a Harry Potter tattoo, but any fan of the book series will definitely know. Like a secret handshake πŸ˜‰
I could probably go on for hours about our plans for the trip, but I won’t. I’ll give you an update when I come back with loads of pictures and details of what happens when four twenty-somethings geeky Norwegian girls visit London for a week. Enjoy October, and tell me about your Samhain/Halloween plans!

This entry was posted in Life, Pagan, Seasonal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October Love

  1. Grace says:

    Enjoy your trip! It sounds like it’ll be a great experience. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

