Happiness is the right cup of tea

Hi guys!

Wow, it’s been four months since my last post, which is really bad. I don’t really have an excuse, except that I stopped participating in the weekly meemes because the hostess was taking them in a religious/christian direction, and I wasn’t comfortable with that. Without the prompts, I sort of fell out of the habit…

A lot has happened since my last post, so much in fact that I hardly know where to start!

It was a rough summer, living at home with me and my three sisters all cooped up with our parents is always rough and tense. Then I had no idea what my life would be like after the summer. Would I manage to land a jobb? Would I have to move across the country for said jobb?

Now though, I am happily installed at my new jobb and in my new apartment. The jobb is temporary, my contract is just for a year for now, but I’m hoping I’ll get a permanent position there later. I work as a university librarian! It’s a wonderful jobb really, my coworkers are great and so welcoming, and I love it. It was a but rough the first couple of weeks, because between my interview and me actually starting the jobb, someone left on paternity leave (yes, we have that in Norway), so I was handed a lot of his responsibilities, such as giving lectures in literature/information searches.
It’s great, I don’t mind giving lectures at all, but I wasn’t prepared for it, and… Well, it’s a medical library, and I had no idea how to do structured searches, let alone search medical databases such as Pubmed and Medline. So I had to learn and I had to learn fast.

But I’m getting a bit off topic here, I was supposed to talk about happiness!
As I was sitting here, curled up in my new couch from IKEA (we managed to assemble it just fine, btw) in my first apartment, I was feeling quite anxious. You see, I’ll be doing a lecture tomorrow, for what we thought would be 10-15 students, only to learn that there will be 230 (!!!) students instead. I have never stood before so many people, and now they’ll all be looking at me for two hours while I attempt to teach them something I barely know myself…

These two are both on their way to me as we type 😉

Then it happened. As I was wallowing in anxiety, I got a snap from a friend showing me her lit fireplace. We decided that it was certainly becoming autumn, seeing as it’s been really cold the past week, and autumn means tea. This conversation lead me to stumble across the most wonderful online shop! A teashop based in Norway which sells Bigelow tea!
I thought my heart would leap out of my chest from joy! I love Bigelow’s Pumpkin Spice tea, everything from the scent and the taste to the look of the box. The problem is that no one but the factory ships them to Norway, and you have to buy at least six boxes and pay 50$ in shipping. So to be able to buy “just” 3 boxes and have them shipped from Oslo instead of America? Well, lets just say that an assortment of Bigelow tea is now on its way here, and I’m one happy librarian once again.

So what is happiness? It depends on the day, but today happiness is knowing that your favourite tea is on its way to you, and that you will have it close at hand for warmth and comfort throughout the autumn and winter. #justlittlethings

So share! Has something small changed your mood for the better?

This entry was posted in Life, Seasonal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happiness is the right cup of tea

  1. I’ve just read this now. So Congrats on the new job! That sounds absolutely fabulous, I’m sure you’ll be awesome as a librarian. Very best of wishes, hope your flat is warm. I can’t imagine anything colder than Edinburgh but maybe I should visit Norway 😉

    • Dravite says:

      Thanks!
      And maybe you should spend a few weeks in Norway, it would teach you to appreciate the warmth of Edinburgh 😉
      If you really want to do it properly though, you should visit Svalbard. It’s an island that is part of Norway, as north as you get

Leave a comment